Mainland Mexico, Part 2

20140125-180439.jpg

    We left off in Cuidád de México, where I headed towards the coast and the city of Veracrúz (which, upon arriving, meant I had crossed from Atlantic to Pacific and back to the Atlantic [Gulf of Mexico].) After getting sick for Christmas (but luckily being taken care of by a nice Mexican family), I reached Veracrúz in time for New Year’s.  I had the idea to entertain in the streets and hold a sign which read “10 Pesos Per Photo” – and though that’s only 90 cents US, it added up to enough for the hostel and snacks.  Of course, I had to drink too much, and found myself vomiting out the window of a taxi.  I usually don’t drink like that, and that was a first – a very un-classy first.
The route thus far.  Obviously it is not exact - I have used bike trails, gotten lost, and doubled back a few times.
The route thus far. Obviously it is not exact – I have used bike trails, gotten lost, and doubled back a few times.  From point “U” to point “X” was the leg of 14 consecutive riding days.
Mendoza family from Guadulpe Victoria, Puebla
Mendoza family from Guadulpe Victoria, Puebla
     Speaking of firsts, for the First Day of the Year,I began a leg of the journey towards and into the Yucatán Peninsula.  It was was a first for most consecutive days – my new personal best for most consecutive days of riding is now 14, with the average daily distance being 100 km (62 mi).  But because it was all flat, I arrived in Cancún a lot less tired than I would have imagined.  Which was fitting, because I have spent almost 2 weeks working every day for accommodation and crappy entertaining pay $4/day.  Point is, Cancún was not a vacation for me, and has made it into my Top Ten Least Favorite Cities of the trip.  I am writing from Playa del Carmen, this being my final week in Mexico.  It’s been a goddamn adventure, but I’m ready for Central America and maybe making some money somewhere? Anyone with suggestions, go to my contact page and email me, or message me on Facebook.
Lunch by the river in the Mexican state of Tabasco
Lunch by the river in the Mexican state of Tabasco

20140125-172525.jpg

I suppose this means I’ve officially completed one continent: North America.

Collecting fresh coconut water while camping on the beach.  The best things in life are free.
Collecting fresh coconut water while camping on the beach. The best things in life are free.
And unless you subscribe to the usual belief that Europe is a separate continent, I have 5 more. (It’s Eurasia, kids.). Though, I don’t know about riding Australia or Antarctica.

I want to thank all of my supporters!

Specifically:

the generous people of Mexico
the Mendoza family from Guadulupe Victoria, Puebla.
Hostel Ka’Beh
Theresa C
Chris S (again!)
my cousin Libby
Keith M
TJ and Lilly
The distance thus far:
12,457 km to date
14,601 km world record
85.3 % of the record
2,144 km left!
(7,786 mi of 9,126 mi)
1,340 left!
Start the countdown!
    So, for anyone not on my “Unicycling the World” page on Facebook, I have decided to actually unicycle the world, not just North and South America.  That being said, I have also decided not to create any more fundraisers, since the record will be broken within the next month.  I will not turn down donations through PayPal, of course, but the idea is that once the record is broken, despite that the journey remains arduous – it will be my choice.  It will be my responsibility to continue to find work to support the trip budget.
3 thoughts on “Mainland Mexico, Part 2

  1. I enjoy to follow your journey on this blog.
    As a unicyler too (short distances 🙂 ) I’m also interested on all the UNi-Adventures you write about.
    So good luck and have a good way
    Charly

Leave a Reply

